Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finland

N.B. Unofficial translation. Legally binding only in Finnish and Swedish

No. 820/2010

Government Decree on the National Committee on Medical Research Ethics

Issued in Helsinki on 16 September 2010

Section 1

The Committee

The National Committee on Medical Research Ethics is linked to the National Supervisory Authority for Welfare and Health.

The Committee may set up subcommittees and invite permanent or temporary experts, as necessary.

Section 2

Duties

In addition to what is provided in sections 16 and 17 of the Medical Research Act (488/1999) the Committee shall:

- 1) support and coordinate the activities of the regional ethics committees in connection with the procedures regarding requesting opinions, in research ethics issues important as a matter of principle, and in organising training linked to these;
- 2) take part in international cooperation regarding research ethics issues;
- 3) collect and convey information on research ethics issues as well as convey information on the international discussion on ethics in the field of medical research, among other things by means of publications, training events and comparable activities; and
- 4) promote the public discussion on medical and biomedical research.

Section 3

Composition

The Committee has a chairperson and vice chairperson and at most 14 other members. The other members each have a personal deputy member. The Government appoints the chairperson, vice chairperson and the members for four years at one time.

The chairpersons of the sub-committees shall be appointed from among the members of the Committee.

If the chairperson or vice chairperson of the Committee or another member or deputy member resigns or dies before the end of his or her term, the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health shall appoint a new member to replace him or her for the remainder of the term.

Section 4

Fees and reimbursements

The Ministry of Social Affairs and Health decides on the criteria for the fees and remunerations payable to the chairman and vice chairman, the members and deputy members of the Committee, as well as on the criteria for the fees payable to the experts used by the Committee.

As regards reimbursement for travel expenses, the collective agreement for government employees on the reimbursement of travel expenses that is in force shall be observed.

Section 5

Entry into force

This Decree enters into force on 1 October 2010.

Measures necessary for the implementation of the Decree may be undertaken before its entry into force.